On 12 November 2018 the Vietnam National Assembly officially ratified the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (“CPTPP”). The agreement has already been ratified by Australia, Canada, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand and Singapore and it will enter into force on 30 December 2018 in those countries. The CPTPP shall enter into force for Vietnam 60 days after Vietnam officially notifies New Zealand, the official depository, in writing of Vietnam’s ratification. The same 60 day procedure for entry into effect will apply for the remaining 4 members, Brunei, Chile, Malaysia and Peru, following each nation’s respective ratification.

Click here to read our full summary analysis.  For additional information, please contact Fred Burke or Thanh Vinh Nguyen.