Ross Evans


The UK Export Control Joint Unit has published a revised guidance note on exporting military or dual-use technology. This guidance clarifies a number of common queries regarding technology exports, particularly around the use of cloud storage and remote data infrastructure through which information could be routed. The guidance also addresses the application of the special arrangements in Northern Ireland under the EU-UK Withdrawal Agreement. The guidance affirms the position on how key definitions and concepts in UK…

The UK has designated six individuals as subject to financial sanctions and asset freeze measures under the Syria (Sanctions) (EU Exit) Regulations 2019 (S.I. 2019/792). The designated persons are: Muhammad Bara AL-QATIRJI,Faisal AL-MIQDAD,Luna AL-SHIBL,Malik ALIAA,Yasser Hussein IBRAHIM,Zaid SALAH. Separately, two entries under the UK’s Iran (Nuclear) financial sanctions regime have been amended. These entries have been added to the UK sanctions list and to the Office of Financial Sanctions Implementation’s Consolidated list of financial sanctions targets.

Following the designations announced 18 February (see our recent post), the UK has designated 5 further individuals under the Myanmar/Burma sanctions regime: Tin Aung SanMaung Maung KyawAung Lin DweMoe Myint TunYe Win Oo The UK has also updated the listing details for Min Aung Hlaing (previously designated, and remaining subject to asset freeze measures). In addition, the existing designation for Bi Sidi Souleman under the UK’s Central African Republic sanctions regime has also been amended.

UK sanctions On 18 February 2021, the UK announced sanctions against Myanmar military generals for serious human rights violations, which come into force immediately. The Foreign Secretary Dominic Raab has announced there are 3 individuals subject to immediate asset freezes and travel bans for serious human rights violations by the military and police force (these are in addition to the current 16 sanctioned individuals). These individuals are: General Mya Tun Oo (Minister of Defence)Lt General Soe Htut…