On September 3, 2020, the Office of the United States Trade Representative (USTR) published in the Federal Register a notice announcing the effective date of modifications to the Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States (HTSUS) concerning the Dominican Republic-Central America-United States Free Trade Agreement (CAFTA-DR).

The United States, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua (CAFTA-DR countries) are parties to the Harmonized System Convention. Because changes to the Convention are reflected in slight differences of form between the national tariff schedules of the United States and the other CAFTA–DR countries, Annexes 4.1, 3.25, and 3.29 of the CAFTA-DR must be changed to ensure that the tariff and certain other treatment accorded under the CAFTA-DR to originating goods will continue to be provided under the tariff categories that were proclaimed in Proclamation 7987. The United States and the other CAFTA–DR countries have agreed to make these changes. The changes will take effect on November 1, 2020, with respect to goods entered for consumption, or withdrawn from warehouse for consumption, on or after that date.