On February 10, 2020, the US Trade Representative (USTR) published in the Federal Register a notice designating World Trade Organization (WTO) Members that are eligible for special de minimis countervailable subsidy and negligible import volume standards under the countervailing duty (CVD) law. The designations include 44 countries as Least-Developed Countries and 35 countries as developing countries.

On the same date, USTR published a final rule removing the USTR’s rules (15 C.F.R. Part 2013) that contain the designations superseded by the notice indicated above. In order to provide more timely updates, USTR has determined that giving notice in the Federal Register rather than through a rulemaking is preferable. Removal of part 2013 also is consistent with the goals of Executive Order 13771, Reducing Regulation and Controlling Regulatory Cost (January 30, 2017).