As we reported on March 30, 2018, 44 African governments signed onto the legally-binding Africa Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) during an extraordinary AU summit this past March.  The AfCFTA is intended to lead to greater economic integration between African countries and drive continental economic growth.

On May 23, 2018, the US Foreign Agricultural Service in Addis Ababa reported that in May, Kenya and Ghana ratified the AfCFTA, while other countries, like Rwanda, Niger, and Ethiopia, have indicated they will ratify soon. The report said, in part:

  On December 14, 2015, U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) published in the Federal Register a general notice. which provides notice to customs brokers that the annual user fee of $138 that is assessed for each permit held by a broker, whether it may be an individual, partnership, association, or corporation, is due by February 26, 2016. Payment of the 2016 Customs Broker User Fee is due by February 26, 2016. 

  On December 14, 2015, the Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) published in the Federal Register a notice stating that USTR, with the participation of other U.S. Government agencies, will convene a public hearing and seek public comment to assist in the preparation of its report to Congress on policy levers for deepening the U.S.-Africa trade and investment relationship. Written comments are due by 11:59 p.m., Tuesday, January 19, 2016. Persons wishing to testify…