On 14 October 2019, the Dutch government announced that on 11 October 2019, the government decided, in response to the Turkish invasion of northern Syria, to tighten Dutch arms export policy with regard to Turkey. Until further notice, all new license applications for the export of military goods to Turkey will be held and no new licenses will be issued. Other EU partners, such as France, Germany, Sweden, Finland, Norway and Belgium, have also tightened their national arms export policy.